Texas is known for coming down hard on those charged with the possession, manufacture, distribution, or trafficking of drugs. Whether you were in the wrong place at the wrong time or are bearing the brunt of overzealous law enforcement, it is crucial that you get in touch with a Texas drug crimes lawyer from our firm. Blanchard & Thomas has years of experience handling a variety of criminal cases while fighting to get clients’ charges reduced or dismissed, when possible. Although we cannot guarantee a specific outcome for any given case, we can guarantee a high level of personal service and representation that is backed by the experience of a former police officer and former Assistant District Attorney.
The 1970 Controlled Substances Act classified drugs into five categories, referred to as schedules. On the extremes of the spectrum lie Schedule I and Schedule V. Schedule I drugs refer to drugs that have no medicinal purpose but are highly addictive to users and Schedule V drugs are those that are commonly used for medical purposes, lightly controlled, and hold limited chances of abuse.
For penalty purposes, the Texas Health and Safety Code groups drugs from Schedules I through V together in penalty groups.
“PG” stands for penalty groups and these categories include:
Each group outlines the classification and penalty for the crimes committed. Crimes of manufacturing or delivering drugs are typically punished more severely than crimes of possession. Marijuana is recognized as a separate matter due to the increase of legality within the United States.
There are many factors which will help determine your sentence if you have been convicted of a drug crime.
The following will influence the severity of your sentence:
The extent of the penalty depends highly on the drug type. The penalty can range from a third degree penalty all the way to a first degree. The highest penalty one can receive for a drug possession in Texas is 99 years behind bars, and/or a fine of up to $250,000. There are four groups that drug possession penalties fall under, with marijuana being in its own. The minimum charge in Texas would be a Class B or Class A, however it can still carry a penalty of up to one year in jail, as well as a fine up to $4,000.
Take advantage of our guidance and resources to help you get your case started off on the right foot. Time is of the essence in building a solid defense to your charges and our firm can provide you with the dedicated service you need to effectively tell your side of the story and fight for your future.
Contact Blanchard & Thomas, PLLC at (866) 219-6119. Our Texas criminal defense attorneys are ready to help.